[SITE NAME]
PLTRPalantir Technologies Inc. · Insider ownership research

Palantir Technologies Inc. insiders sold $869M. How much of their stake is that?

About 3.0% overall. As a group they ended with more shares than they started with.

0
purchases by officers and directors
76%
of sales were under disclosed trading plans
9 of 12
officers and directors sold shares
Is this normal? Less than usual: about one-seventh of the 5-year average. 9 insiders sold; the average is 10 a year. Year by year
Latest filing: Filed Oct 5 for a sale on Oct 1. Lauren Stat sold 1.3K shares ($254K) under a disclosed plan. Filing
Oct 8, 2025 to Oct 7, 2026 · 54 SEC ownership filings · updated Oct 7, 2026 · See the evidence

What stands out

  1. Two officers sold more than 25% of vested holdings: Ryan Taylor (35% of holdings, $16.6M, all under a disclosed plan) and Jeffrey Buckley (30% of holdings, $2.3M, all under a disclosed plan).Ryan Taylor: largest sale, Jan 2, 2026 · Jeffrey Buckley: largest sale, Aug 20, 2026
  2. Three officers sold shares but ended with larger stakes, because more shares came in than were sold: Alex Karp (sold 1.79M, 3.1% of starting holdings; 3.90M added), Stephen Cohen (sold 995K, 7.7% of starting holdings; 2.02M added) and David Glazer (sold 61K, 14% of starting holdings; 102K added).Alex Karp: largest sale, Aug 20, 2026 · Stephen Cohen: largest sale, May 20, 2026 · David Glazer: largest sale, Dec 12, 2025

Percentages cover 11 of 12 officers and directors. Left out: Shyam Sankar (holdings couldn't be fully reconciled). Disclosed company stock is not an insider's whole wealth.

The evidence

Who sold9 officers and directors: amount, % of holdings, trading plan
Who soldAmount% of holdingsTrading plan
Peter Thiel
Director
$290M
2.00M shares
2.0%Disclosed plan
Alex Karp
See Remarks, Director
$272M
1.79M shares
3.1%76% under a disclosed plan
Stephen Cohen
See Remarks, Director
$144M
995K shares
7.7%No plan disclosed
Shyam Sankar
See Remarks
$102M
722K shares
i
No percentage: holdings couldn't be fully reconciled.
Disclosed plan
Alexander Moore
Director
$30.5M
192K shares
15%Disclosed plan
Ryan Taylor
See Remarks
$16.6M
108K shares
35%Disclosed plan
David Glazer
See Remarks
$9.2M
61K shares
14%Disclosed plan
Jeffrey Buckley
See Remarks
$2.3M
15K shares
30%Disclosed plan
Lauren Stat
Director
$2.2M
13K shares
11%Disclosed plan
The full ownership picture11 of 12 insiders fully reconciled · 12 officers and directors

Vested shares across all share classes, held directly and through trusts, LLCs and family members, as reported on SEC Forms 3, 4 and 5. Unvested awards and options are never counted as owned shares.

InsiderHeld Oct 7, 2025SoldHeld Oct 7, 2026Still held
Peter Thiel
i
Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.
Director
100.00M−2.00M98.00M98%
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Peter Thiel
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Rivendell 7 LLCClass A Common Stock34,260,45134,260,451
PLTR Holdings LLCClass A Common Stock20,823,99320,823,993
STS Holdings II LLCClass A Common Stock15,733,62513,733,625
Rivendell 25 LLCClass A Common Stock53,48753,487
STS Holdings II LLCClass B Common Stock26,165,48326,165,483
Rivendell 25 LLCClass B Common Stock2,962,9612,962,961

Additional holdings last reported May 11, 2021, not confirmed since: 39,236,601 shares. Not included in any total or percentage on this page.

Alex Karp
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed. Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.
See Remarks, Director
56.81M−1.79M58.93M+3.7%
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Alex Karp

Name on SEC filings: Alexander Karp (Karp Alexander C.).

0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
22.43M → 18.52Munvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
  • Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock6,432,2586,432,258
DirectClass B Common Stock50,380,90752,492,901

Additional holdings last reported Sep 22, 2020, not confirmed since: 335,000 shares. Not included in any total or percentage on this page.

Stock options (not counted as shares):

Options heldStrike priceExpiresIntrinsic value (estimate)
105,000,000$11.38Aug 20, 2032$18.75B

Estimate: options held × ($189.95 − strike price), using the most recent insider trade price on Form 4 (Oct 1, 2026), not a market close.

Stephen Cohen
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed. Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.
See Remarks, Director
12.86M−995K13.89M+8%
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Stephen Cohen
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
2.02M → 0unvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
  • Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock592592
DirectClass B Common Stock12,856,79713,887,004

Additional holdings last reported Sep 22, 2020, not confirmed since: 335,000 shares. Not included in any total or percentage on this page.

Stock options (not counted as shares):

Options heldStrike priceExpiresIntrinsic value (estimate)
8,341,568$4.72Jun 8, 2030$1.55B

Estimate: options held × ($189.95 − strike price), using the most recent insider trade price on Form 4 (Oct 1, 2026), not a market close.

Shyam Sankar
!
Holdings couldn't be fully reconciled. Balance changed without a matching transaction, and the footnote does not state the amount: +749,899 shares on Jul 2, 2026 (Reporting Person and the Sankar Irrevocable Remainder Trust u/a/d 4/20/2020). See the filing Sales and other transactions for Shyam Sankar are complete.
See Remarks
n/a−722Kn/an/a
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Shyam Sankar
0shares vested or exercised
−350Kgifted (net of own trusts)
1.13M → 0unvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
  • Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.

Holdings couldn't be fully reconciled. Balance changed without a matching transaction, and the footnote does not state the amount: +749,899 shares on Jul 2, 2026 (Reporting Person and the Sankar Irrevocable Remainder Trust u/a/d 4/20/2020). The balances below are as reported, not verified totals.

Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock642,786292,786
Sankar Irrevocable Remainder Trust u/a/d 4/20/2020Class A Common Stock749,899599,899
Reporting Person and the Sankar Irrevocable Remainder Trust u/a/d 4/20/2020Class A Common Stock0599,899
DirectClass B Common Stock3,075,9923,628,598

Additional holdings last reported Jul 22, 2022, not confirmed since: 761,111 shares. Not included in any total or percentage on this page.

Stock options (not counted as shares):

Options heldStrike priceExpiresIntrinsic value (estimate)
1,125,000$11.38Aug 20, 2032$201M

Estimate: options held × ($189.95 − strike price), using the most recent insider trade price on Form 4 (Oct 1, 2026), not a market close.

Alexander Moore
i
Minor difference of -1 share. Difference is under 0.5% of holdings. Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Director
1.25M−192K1.06M85%
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Alexander Moore
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock1,252,9781,063,095

Reconciliation: minor difference of -1 share. Difference is under 0.5% of holdings.

David Glazer
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
See Remarks
431K−61K468K+8.6%
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for David Glazer
+9Kshares vested or exercised
−3.8Kgifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock431,169468,150

Stock options (not counted as shares):

Options heldStrike priceExpiresIntrinsic value (estimate)
13,513$4.72Jun 3, 2030$2.5M
214,487$4.72Jun 3, 2030$39.7M

Estimate: options held × ($189.95 − strike price), using the most recent insider trade price on Form 4 (Oct 1, 2026), not a market close.

Ryan Taylor
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
See Remarks
310K−108K295K95%
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Ryan Taylor
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock307,470292,667
DirectClass B Common Stock2,3072,307
Alexandra Schiff
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed. Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.
Director
187K0189Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Alexandra Schiff
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
  • Additional holdings last reported more than 3 years ago are shown separately and excluded from totals.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock186,965189,083

Additional holdings last reported Sep 22, 2020, not confirmed since: 10,000 shares. Not included in any total or percentage on this page.

Lauren Stat
i
Minor difference of -1 share. Difference is under 0.5% of holdings. Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Director
120K−13K103K85%
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Lauren Stat
0shares vested or exercised
−7Kgifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock62,08751,428
SpouseClass A Common Stock50,79443,794
child's 2025 gift trustClass A Common Stock7,3357,335

Reconciliation: minor difference of -1 share. Difference is under 0.5% of holdings.

Heather Planishek
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
See Remarks
66K066Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Heather Planishek
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock58,00658,006
Reporting Person as Custodian for a minor child under the Uniform Transfers to Minors ActClass A Common Stock8,1308,130

Stock options (not counted as shares):

Options heldStrike priceExpiresIntrinsic value (estimate)
2,986$4.72Jun 3, 2030$553K

Estimate: options held × ($189.95 − strike price), using the most recent insider trade price on Form 4 (Oct 1, 2026), not a market close.

Jeffrey Buckley
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed. New Form 3 filed 2025-03-26; earlier filings set aside.
See Remarks
51K−15K57K+12%
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Jeffrey Buckley
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
  • New Form 3 filed 2025-03-26; earlier filings set aside.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock50,96156,921
Eric Woersching
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Director
2.3K04.5Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Eric Woersching
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Held throughShare classOct 7, 2025Oct 7, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Class A Common Stock2,3484,466

11 of 12 insiders fully reconciled: starting holdings plus reported transactions match ending holdings (9 exactly, 2 with a minor or footnoted difference). For 1 we show sales but not holdings; the ! icon on that row explains why. Percentages cover 11 of 12 officers and directors. Left out: Shyam Sankar (holdings couldn't be fully reconciled). "Still held" compares ending with starting vested shares; a plus sign means the holding grew.

What explains the selling$869M of sales by plan status, purpose, seller and month

Officer and director open-market sales: $869M across 5,893,957 shares. Plan status and stated purpose are separate questions, and a sale can have both.

By plan status

The lighter segment is sales with no plan disclosed in the filing ($210M), including tax-related sales outside a plan.

Taxes

$478M of sales (55.1%) cite tax obligations in their footnotes, $268M of them also under a plan. Example: Jeffrey Buckley, Aug 20, 2026

Charitable gifts · 354K shares

Gifts the filings describe as charitable. Gifts are not sales and are not included in the sale totals.

SellerShares soldProceedsUnder a disclosed planShare of totalSales dates
Peter Thiel
Director
2.00M$290M100%33%Mar 2, 2026 to Mar 2, 2026
Alex Karp
See Remarks, Director
1.79M$272M76%31%Nov 20, 2025 to Aug 20, 2026
Stephen Cohen
See Remarks, Director
995K$144M0%17%Nov 20, 2025 to May 20, 2026
Shyam Sankar
See Remarks
722K$102M100%12%Nov 20, 2025 to Aug 6, 2026
Alexander Moore
Director
192K$30.5M100%4%Nov 3, 2025 to Sep 15, 2026
Ryan Taylor
See Remarks
108K$16.6M100%2%Nov 20, 2025 to May 20, 2026
David Glazer
See Remarks
61K$9.2M100%1%Nov 20, 2025 to May 20, 2026
Jeffrey Buckley
See Remarks
15K$2.3M100%0.3%Nov 20, 2025 to Aug 21, 2026
Lauren Stat
Director
13K$2.2M100%0.3%Jan 2, 2026 to Oct 1, 2026

Sales by month

Oct 2025Nov 2025: $167MDec 2025: $5.0MDec 2025Jan 2026: $6.3MFeb 2026: $141MFeb 2026Mar 2026: $292M$292MApr 2026: $2.2MApr 2026May 2026: $128MJun 2026: $2.6MJun 2026Jul 2026: $26.2MAug 2026: $95.4MAug 2026Sep 2026: $3.0MOct 2026: $254KOct 2026
Monthly figures as a table
MonthSale proceeds
Oct 2025$0
Nov 2025$167M
Dec 2025$5.0M
Jan 2026$6.3M
Feb 2026$141M
Mar 2026$292M
Apr 2026$2.2M
May 2026$128M
Jun 2026$2.6M
Jul 2026$26.2M
Aug 2026$95.4M
Sep 2026$3.0M
Oct 2026$254K
Is this normal? Selling year by year5 earlier years to compare with

Less than usual: about one-seventh of the 5-year average. 9 insiders sold; the average is 10 a year.

12 months endingShares soldInsiders who soldProceeds
Oct 7, 2026
Latest 12 months
5.89M9$869M
Oct 7, 2025
1 year earlier
45.55M11$3.10B
Oct 7, 2024
2 years earlier
69.53M11$2.12B
Oct 8, 2023
3 years earlier
11.93M10$151M
Oct 8, 2022
4 years earlier
13.54M8$275M
Oct 8, 2021
5 years earlier
64.55M10$1.53B

Open-market sales (Form 4 code S) by people who were officers or directors, in split-adjusted shares. Earlier years include people who have since left. Shares, not dollars, are compared, so a change in the stock price doesn't look like a change in selling. Years the filings don't fully cover are shown but left out of the average.

Known gaps and uncertainty1 insider whose holdings couldn't be fully reconciled

Shyam Sankar: holdings couldn't be fully reconciled (difference of 599,899 shares). Balance changed without a matching transaction, and the footnote does not state the amount: +749,899 shares on Jul 2, 2026 (Reporting Person and the Sankar Irrevocable Remainder Trust u/a/d 4/20/2020). Filing, Jul 2, 2026

Footnote: "This transaction is part of a related series of transactions undertaken on July 2, 2026 pursuant to a preexisting Rule 10b5-1 trading plan, intended to satisfy the affirmative defense conditions of Rule 10b5-1(c), entered into on March 11, 2026 by the Reporting Person and the Sankar Irrevocable Remainder Trust u/a/d 4/20/2020 (the "Remainder Trust"). The Reporting Person converted 35,000 shares of Class B Common Stock to Class A Common Stock and immediately sold the resulting shares of Class A Common Stock in the open market, and the Remainder Trust sold 150,000 shares of Class A Common Stock "

Alexander Moore: minor difference of -1 share. Difference is under 0.5% of holdings.

Lauren Stat: minor difference of -1 share. Difference is under 0.5% of holdings.

Inferred rename: "SMR Capital Holdings LP" is treated as the same holder as "75 and Sunny LP", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (215,053 shares). Old name, new name

External context: we only cite outside events when a documented connection exists. None is shown for this period.

Sources and methodology498 filings from SEC EDGAR, and how we read them

All 498 Forms 3, 4 and 5 filed for Palantir Technologies Inc. (SEC CIK 1321655) from Sep 22, 2020 to Oct 5, 2026, retrieved from SEC EDGAR on Oct 7, 2026. Prices are the ones reported in each filing, often weighted averages. 44 filings were left out because Palantir Technologies Inc. filed them as an owner of another company's stock.

Holdings. Each holding line (a share class plus an owner, such as a trust or LLC) carries its last reported balance forward. Entities first reported during the period start at zero, so transfers between an insider's own trusts don't count as selling. Lines not reported for three years or more are listed separately and left out of totals.

Sales. A sale counts as under a 10b5-1 plan if its footnote cites one or the filing's Rule 10b5-1 box is checked, and as tax-related if its footnote cites tax obligations or sell-to-cover. Shares withheld by the company for taxes are listed separately. Sales with neither attribute are labeled "no plan disclosed".

Full methodology

Former or inactive filers (4)No filing in 18 months; last reported balances, not in any total